South Africa’s Michael February finished fifth in the QS10,000 Vans US Open of Surfing at Huntington Beach in California on Sunday to surge into second place on the World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) rankings.

Alkantstrand April Fool Joke

dolos is a concrete block in a complex geometric shape weighing up to 20 tons, used in great numbers to protect harbour walls from the erosive force of ocean waves. Richards Bay has many of them and they play a big role in the variety of surf spots that Alkantstrand has to offer.

HUNTINGTON BEACH, California/ USA (Sunday, July 30, 2017) – South Africa’s Matt McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay) powered his way through four rounds of world class competition in California on Sunday to clinch victory in the Men’s Trials and earn the coveted wildcard into the QS10,000 Vans US Open of Surfing.

Reigning World Surf League (WSL) Big Wave Tour (BWT) Champion Grant ‘Twiggy’ Baker will start his challenge for the 2017/2018 title in Mexico this weekend following the announcement that the Puerto Escondido Challenge has been placed on Green Alert to commence on Sunday or Monday, July 30 or 31.

The fifth edition of the JBay Wind Farm MTB Classic took place today in perfect conditions. Some 500 riders of all ages and skill levels took to the trails in three distances, 25km, 50km and the gruelling 85km ultra marathon.