Competition resumed on Day 2 of the Nissan Zululand SA Bodyboarding Champs 2015 with a lot less wind and more swell for the competitors to work with.

The surf was a lot better with some punch 2-3 footers coming through for the majority of the day and even some 4-5 foot sets breaking in some heats in the afternoon. This made for some really big moves and high scoring waves and plenty of hoots and cheers from the supporters on the beach.

First heat in the water was the Ladies Divion round 1 where Skye Cremer (SKZN) took an easy win followed by a tough battle between local Robyn Nutt and Olivia Donald (CKZN). Olivia, back in a competition vest after a long break, is a former SA Champion with her last title coming back in 1999 in Jefferys Bay. Her experience paid off as she took the win. Next up was the Grandmasters Division where Mike van Huyssteen (CKZN) took the win over Ian Stansfield (WP) and Len Bradford (BOL). 

In the Boys Division heat winners were Michael Roberts (Bol) continuing his good form, Joshua Falconer (NKZN) revelling in local knowledge, and two heat wins from WP riders Quinn van Heerden and Emile Smal.

Next up was the Masters riders which saw ex-Zululander Ryno Turketti (Bol) get a win in heat 1, Dean Conway (CKZN) with the win in Heat 2 and  NKZN Chairman Nick Phillips. In the Dropknee Division Mark McCarthy (NKZN), proving to be a force on the knee, took another heat win along with Dune Barker (SKZN) for bother riders to end on 600 points and advancing to the semi-finals.

The Pro Division Round 2 saw the biggest sets of the day and the biggest cheers. Standouts with heat wins were Storm Prestwich (CKZN), Rory-Fellows Smith (SKZN), Garryd-ensor Smith (CKZN) and the local trio of Izan Leibbrandt, Rheinhard du Toit and Mark McCarthy taking out the last 3 heats. McCarthy’s heat winning wave coming excitedly in the dying seconds of the heat.

The final eight heats of the day belonged to the Junior riders and those from Central KZN in particular with all five of their riders advancing to the quarter finals. Good wins seen from Thomas Bell, Teegan Coulonval and Garryd Ensor-Smith. Well done to local rider Eugene Prenzler for making the cut and advancing. 

All in all a very good day of competition with team spirit high and a great vibe down at Alkanstrand.

Images by dougefreshpics - Like his Facebook page and follow on Instagram

[widgetkit id=5]