Small early morning surf on day two of the Citroen SA Surfing Championships forced organisers to put the contest on hold until the surf improved as the tide dropped. Once the event got going however, surfers in the second rounds of this seven daylong event gave it their all and there were some impressive heat scores despite the marginal conditions.

Third Round heat winners in the premiere Open Men’s Division were Dylan Stewart & Chris Frolich (both eThekweni), former SA Champion Gavin Roberts (Ugu),Simon Fish (Buffalo City) and Craig Johnson (Cape Town). They advanced to Round Four as did defending champion Greg Emslie (Buffalo City), Scott Venter (Presidents Team),David Van Zyl and Chris Frolich (both eThekweni),Luke Malherbe (Buffalo City) and Clint Fraser (Nelson Mandela Bay). A significant upset was the elimination of two time SA Champion Casey Grant (Ugu)

In the Open Women’s Division, Danielle Johnson (Presidents Team),Heather Klug (Ugu),Kat Steffen(eThekweni) and Nina Woermann (Cape Town) joined Round One qualifiers Emma Smith, Faye Zoetmulder (both Nelson Mandela Bay),Tamarys de Maroussem and Monique Gresse (both uThungulu), Lynne Mackey (eThekweni), Tasha Mentasti (Presidents Team),multiple SA Champion Heather Clark (Ugu), and defending champion Nikita Robb (Buffalo City) in Round Yhree.

Joshe Faulkner (Nelson Mandela Bay), JJ Harris and Richard Kidd (both eThekweni) and Michael Monk (Buffalo City) all won their Round Three U20 Division heats to advance to the next Round. Alos advancing are second placed surfers Bevan Willis and Devin Whitehead (both eThekweni), Brandon Benjamin (Cape Town), Tristan Lev (Nelson Mandela Bay),Luke Malherbe (Buffalo City) and Ntando Msibi (Presidents Team).

While conditions will remain small tomorrow (Day Three) they are expected to improve on Thursday and Friday. The contest will end with all eleven finals on Sunday

The 50th South African Surfing Championships are supported by Sport and Recreation SA, the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Reef Wetsuits. Zigzag, the  Zululand Observer, the uMhlatuze Community Tourism Organisation, the City of uMhlatuze and Monster Energy.

Heats,contest schedule and photos for the 2016 Citroën SA National Championships are updated each day on

# citroënSA

# C4cactus

# CitroenRB

Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport in South Africa and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).

27 champs