The Master surfers, some of whom are the best in the country, put on an excellent display of surfing despite the small surf on offer. The conditions were great however with an offshore breeze blowing the whole day, sunny skies and a really good atmosphere on the beach. Competition was fierce with as little as two spots available in certain divisions that will make up the team to represent the district at the SA Surfing Champs to be held locally in August.

Sean van Oettingen surfed really well on the day winning both his heats in the 35+ Division. Dave Peterson had a great semi-final with a convincing win over Vince King but in the final Vince returned the favour. The 50+ Division saw a highly entertaining contest between former SA Champ Robin Lavery, current SA Champ Fred le Roux and the ever consistent Daryl “Stretch” Adamson. Robin took this first event with with Daryl in second and with this being one of the divisions where only two surfers will be selected we look forward to the next round of action to see who comes up on top.

An in form Tamarys de Marossem, back in her old stomping ground, took the win in a mixed heat of ballies over Kenneth Hodgson, Bushy Greeff and Calla Esterhuysen. Tamarys really got to enjoy her Mother’s Day when the surf turned on after everyone left for the day. It was also great to see some old faces like York Lawrence and Ricky Arts back in competition vests in “Zululand” and we hope to see more entrants at the next trial on 14 June.

uThungulu Surfriding would like to thank all those involved especially Fred, Judy and Anton for setting up and running the trial, all those who judged heats and to Nobby Clarke and Lenard Düpper for standing on the beach all morning capturing the spirit of the trials and some amazing action photos. Thanks also to the lifeguards who let us park our SA Surfing Champs sponsors vehicle on the beach all day. #citroenSA #c4cactus


1. Sean von Oettingen
2. Allan Johns
3. Andrew Rowling
4. Scott Rutherfoord

1. Vince King
2. Mike Frew
3. Dave Peterson
4. Clint Dreyer

1. Kenneth Hodgson
2. Fred le Roux

1. Robin Lavery
2. Daryl Adamson
3. Fred le Roux

1. Bushy Greeff
2. Calla Esterhuysen

35+ Ladies
1. Tamarys de Maroussem


[widgetkit id=2]


[widgetkit id=1]