The event, completed at Nahoon Reef on Saturday saw the Zululand team finish in 2nd place overall and with Fred le Roux of Richards Bay walking away with the title of SA Champion in the Grand Kahunas Division.

The Border team dominated proceedings in their home surf, clinching their eighth successive Provincial team title along with four of the seven individual titles on offer. Competing in excellent one to two metre surf with stiff offshore winds, they had representatives in the final of every division and accumulated 39 764 points to retain the Masters Cup. Zululand surprised their counterparts by finishing runners-up in the team standings ahead of Eastern Province, Western Province, KwaZulu-Natal Central, Southern Cape and Southern KwaZulu-Natal.

This is an amazing achievement for Fred who had to miss out on last years event due to a broken leg sustained while surfing his stand-up paddleboard off Pelican Island in big surf. Fred underwent rehabilitation and managed to regain his strength in the water to not only make the Zululand team but to go to SA Champs and win the title.

Zululand team members who excelled in the event making their finals were Alan Johns (Ballito) who cam third in the Senior Men (Over 30), Andrew Banks claimed fourth in the Masters (35-40), Vince King also fourth in the Grandmasters (Over 40) and Fred le Roux first and Champion in the Grand Kahunas (Over 50).

The 2015 Cool Shoe SA Masters Surfing Championships will be run in Richards Bay and will be the first national event hosted by Zululand Surfing Association. The team are hoping that with home ground advantage and an ever improving team will result in a first place finish and an end to Borders grip on the event.


Provincial Team rankings
1. Border - 39 764 points – Masters Cup
2. Zululand – 29 812 points
3. Eastern Province – 27 956 points
4. Western Province – 26 252 points
5. KwaZulu-Natal Central – 17 932 points
6. Southern Cape – 11 780 points
7. Southern KwaZulu-Natal – 8 872 points

Senior Men (Over 30)
1. Devyn Mattheys (Border)
2. Tyrell Johnson (Border)
3. Alan Johns (Zululand)
4. Kelvin Zehmke (Eastern Province)

Masters (O35)
1. Greg Emslie (Border)
2. Clinton Fraser (Eastern Province)
3. Stuart Fowles (Border)
4. Andrew Banks (Zululand)

Grandmasters (O40)
1. Gary van Wieringen (Southern KZN)
2. Wayne Monk (Border)
3. Kevin O’Brien (Border)
4. Vince King (Zululand)

Kahunas (O45)
1. Gareth Sepp (Border)
2. Rob Moore-Boyle (KZN Central)
3. David Malherbe (Border)
4. Mark Wooten (KZN Central)

Grandkahunas (O50)
1. Fred Le Roux (Zululand)
2. Nick Pike (Border)
3. Arthur Cowan (KZN Central)
4. Andre Venter (Eastern Province)

Veterans (O55)
1. Brian Heathcote (Border)
2. Chris Knutsen (KZN Central)
3. Gordon Harmer (Border)
4. Hans Kamhoot (Western Province)

Women (O30)
1. Heather Clark (Southern KZN)
2. Tasha Mentasti (Southern Cape)
3. Carolyn Dent (Western Province)
4. Nicky Hare (Border)
5. Michelle Holmes (Eastern Province)