Jordy Smith Cape Town Surf Pro pres. by O’Neill

QS1,000 Men & Women
JQS1,000 Junior Men & Women

Melkbosstrand, Cape Town, South Africa

June 22-25, 2017

Alex Ribeiro (BRA) and Zoe McDougall (HAW) clinched back-to-back titles in South Africa when they won the men’s and women’s events at the Jordy Smith Cape Town Surf Pro pres. by O’Neill in front of a packed beachfront at Melkbosstrand in Cape Town on Sunday.

Faulkner and Fulton Grab Junior Crowns

Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) was the only South African winner at the event, successfully defending the junior men’s crown he won last year, while Sophia Fulton (AUS) grabbed her second victory in the past three weeks by dominating the junior women’s final

Ribeiro added this week’s World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) 1,000 win to his victory in the QS3,000 Volkswagen SA Open of Surfing in Durban last weekend, which sees the former Championship Tour (CT) surfer jump three places to No. 2 on the QS rankings.

Up against close friend and travelling companion Marcos Correa (BRA) in the final, Ribeiro shot into a commanding lead as a growing swell pushed the wave heights up to two metres. Finding the only high scoring left breaking wave of the event, an 8.67, Ribeiro had his opponent in a combination situation within 10 minutes and Correa still needed 15.68 points when the 25 minute heat ended.

McDougall, who has already won four events in South Africa this year, overcame an uncharacteristically sluggish performance in the junior women’s final to dominate the women’s final, racking up scores of 7.83 and 6.67 for a 14.50 heat total that her opponents, Camilla Kemp (PRT), Nicole Pallet (La Lucia) and Reiki Noro (JPN) were unable to match.

Joshe Faulkner was ecstatic to return to the winners circle at the junior men’s event he won last year. The lanky Jeffreys Bay teenager stayed very busy throughout the final, riding a total of 13 waves in the 25 minutes, and took the lead from Liam O’Brien (AUS) with a high-risk aerial that netted him an excellent 8.87.

With Joao Chianca (BRA) threatening the lead, Faulkner posted a 7.0 on his twelfth ride to seal the victory ahead of Chianca, O’Brien and his brother Angelo.

The junior women’s final was the first to run as the swell started filling in and became a nail-biting contest as the top three were separated by less than half a point. It was Fulton’s opening ride of 7.33 that prevailed when the last rides of both fellow Australian Pacha Luque-Light and McDougall fell agonizingly short of overhauling the leader. Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) struggled to find waves with scoring potential in the final and finished fourth.

The presence of event sponsor and current world No. 3, Jordy Smith, drew throngs of spectators to the event and he put his signature on everything from surfboards to T-Shirts and posters before presiding at the awards ceremony.

The outreach programmes conducted by Surfing South Africa (SSA) at the each of the five events in the City Surf Series formed an important part of the activities, enabling young surfers from various backgrounds to participate in the international events. Comprising beach activities, water coaching, a tag team contest and beach relays the initiatives were presented by the Surfers With Original Talent (SWOT) organisation headed by Danielle Johnson.

Full results, news, photos and videos will be available at and on the WSL App, which is a free download.

The Jordy Smith Cape Town Surf Pro is proudly supported by O’Neill, City of Cape Town, Tsogo Sun, Skullcandy, El Jimador, Yesman, Red Bull, World Surf League, Surfing South Africa and Accelerate Sport.

Jordy Smith Cape Town Surf Pro pres. by O’Neill

Men’s Final Results

  1. Alex Ribeiro (Brazil) 15.67 R12,000 1,000 pts
  2. Marcos Correa (Brazil) 10.43 R 6,000 750 pts

Women’s Final Results

  1. Zoe McDougall (Hawaii) 14.05 R8,000 1,000 pts
  2. Camilla Kemp (Portugal) 8.37 R4,000 750 pts
  3. Nicole Pallet (La Lucia) 8.13 R2,500 560 pts
  4. Reiki Noro (Japan) 7.33 R2,000 525 pts

Junior Men’s JQS1,000 Final Results

  1. Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) 15.83 R8,000 1,000 pts
  2. Joao Chianca (Brazil) 14.27 R4,000 750 pts
  3. Liam O’Brien (Australia) 11.53 R2,500 560 pts
  4. Angelo Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) 9.27 R2,000 525 pts

Junior Women’s JQS1,000 Final Results

  1. Sophia Fulton (Australia) 10.10 R4,000 1,000 pts
  2. Pacha Luque-Light (Australia) 10.00 R2,000 750 pts
  3. Zoe McDougall (Hawaii) 9.70 R1,110 560 pts
  4. Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) 3.64 R 900 525 pts

Men’s Semifinal Results (2nd = 3rd place; R3,000; 560 pts)

SF1: Marcos Correa (BRA) 16.17 def. Alonso Correa (PER) 15.50
SF2: Alex Ribeiro (BRA) 10.16 def. Robson Santos (BRA) 4.03


Caption: Event sponsor and current world No. 3, Jordy Smith, with Zoe McDougall (Hawaii) and Alex Ribeiro (Brazil), winners of the women’s and men’s events at the Jordy Smith Cape Town Surf Pro pres. by O’Neill at Melkbosstrand on Sunday • Photo: WSL / Thurtell

About the World Surf League

The World Surf League (WSL), formerly the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a truly global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.

The WSL has been championing the world's best surfing since 1976, running in excess of 180 global events across the Men's and Women's Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport's rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed world champions in Men’s, Women’s across all divisions within the tour.

Showcasing the world's best surfing on its digital platform at as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Mick Fanning, Tyler Wright, John John Florence, Stephanie Gilmore, Gabriel Medina, Carissa Moore, Grant Baker, Kelly Slater, Adriano de Souza and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.

About Surfing South Africa

Surfing South Africa is recognised by the Department of Sport and Recreation as the national governing body for the sport. Surfing South Africa is a member of the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).

Issued on behalf of:
WSL Africa

Contact: Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel: 021 534 5738
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Compiled & Distributed by:
Life's a Beach Communications

PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.