016 titlepic

New Pier the Venue for Third Stop in City Surf Series

A huge entry of more than 130 professional and highly rated surfers will be battling for prestige, prize-money and points in the Corona Durban Surf Pro presented by Quiksilver and Roxy that will run in the hallowed waves of New Pier from Friday to Sunday, 21-23 April.

The third of five stops on the City Surf Series offers a total prize-purse of R80,000 and points on international and regional rankings in World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) rated events for Men and Women and Junior Qualifying Series (JQS) events for Men and Women18-and-under.

Michael February (Kommetjie) has leapfrogged 21 places to No. 26 on the QS rankings after his victory in Port Elizabeth a fortnight back and runner-up finish in East London last weekend and he will be wearing the striped Skullcandy rankings leade’s vest again in Durban.

Second seed Beyrick de Vries (uMhlanga) has an outstanding contest record in KwaZulu-Natal beach breaks and is joined by a bevy of hungry stars who will be going all out to prevent February from increasing his lead in the race for the 2017 WSL Africa Men’s title.

Dylan Lightfoot and Matthew McGillivray from Jeffreys Bay, New Pier standout David van Zyl (Glenashley), last weekend’s runner-up Steven Sawyer (J-Bay), Braden Jones (USA) and Dale Staples (St Francis Bay) complete the high caliber top eight seeds, all of whom have the ability to clinch victory on their day.

Hawaiian Zoe McDougall, currently ranked 13th on the QS Women’s leaderboard, takes over as top seed in the QS1,000 Women’s event in Durban after flying in from Barbados, and her talent is well known in South Africa after winning the Ballito women’s event last year.

Emma Smith (J-Bay) and KZN stars Nicole Pallet (La Lucia) and Teal Hogg (uMhlanga) fill the top four spots in the seedings while East London winner Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) and  runner-up Tayla Hanak (AUS) will also pose major threats.

Bell has been the star of the Junior Women, although Kayla Noguera (uMhlanga) who won in Port Elizabeth, and Kirsty McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay) are more than capable of causing major upsets, while McDougall has also entered the JQS1,000 rated event.

Jake Elkington (Kommetjie) and Koby Oberholzer (Warner Beach), winners of the previous two JQS1,000 Men’s events, will be determined to draw away from the chasing pack who include Max Elkington (Kommetjie), reigning WSL Africa champ Adin Masencamp (Strand) and Luke Slijpen (Jeffreys Bay).

Organisers will meet at New Pier early on Friday morning and the decision on when to get the contest underway will be made at 7 am. The opening two rounds of Men’s competition will be first up followed by Round 1 of the Women’s event. The event champions will be crowned on Sunday afternoon.

An outreach programme will be conducted by Surfing South Africa (SSA) during the event. Participants will be involved in beach activities, water coaching, a tag team contest, beach relays and an Easter egg hunt with all participants receiving breakfast, lunch and a commemorative medal.

Live scoring, results, images, news and more for the Buffalo City Surf Pro presented by Reef Wetsuits will be available at WorldSurfLeague.com and on the WSL App, with highlights on the WSL QS Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts.

The Corona Durban Surf Pro is supported by Quiksilver, Roxy, Volkswagen, Yesman, Tsogo Sun, Skullcandy, El Jimador and Accelerate Sport.


Caption: Michael February (Kommetjie) will be wearing the striped Skullcandy rakings leader’s vest at the Corona Durban Surf Pro presented by Quiksilver at New Pier • Photo: WSL / Thurtell

NOTE: High-resolution images of all the action are available for media outlets on request

About the World Surf League
The World Surf League (WSL), formerly the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a truly global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.

The WSL has been championing the world's best surfing since 1976, running in excess of 180 global events across the Men's and Women's Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport's rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed world champions in Men’s, Women’s across all divisions within the tour.

Showcasing the world's best surfing on its digital platform at WorldSurfLeague.com as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Mick Fanning, Tyler Wright, John John Florence, Stephanie Gilmore, Gabriel Medina, Carissa Moore, Grant Baker, Kelly Slater, Adriano de Souza and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.

About Surfing South Africa

Surfing South Africa is recognised by the Department of Sport and Recreation as the national governing body for the sport. Surfing South Africa is a member of the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).