Category: Surfing News
Hits: 1618

The early rounds of the 2017 Mercedes – Benz SA Surfing Championships hosted by Buffalo City began in challenging conditions at Nahoon Reef in East London today (Tuesday August 22)

The 52nd Edition of the premier Surfing South Africa National Championships features over 160 surfers from nine Districts who are competing for nine individual titles as well as Team honours.

Strong winds and changing conditions, which improved throughout the day, produced some fine individual performances and high scoring heats.

Standout surfer on the day was Heather Clark of UGU Surfriders. who posted a remarkable 19 out of a possible 20 points in her Round One heat. Clark is attempting to secure her 9th South African title since winning her first one at Nahoon Reef in 1989.

Another standout on Day one was five time and defending SA Mens Champion Greg Emslie of Buffalo City Surfriders who posted the highest heat score in Round One,

Joining Emslie in Round Three as Heat winners are teammates Michael Monk, Devyn Mattheys, Luke Malherbe and Thomas Lindhorst. Others who won their first round heats were Cody Coetsee and Derek Horlock (both UGU),Adin Masencamp (Cape Winelands). Jerry Van Wyk and Joshe Faulkner ( Nelson Mandela Bay) and Llewellyn Whittaker (Eden). 

Joining Clark in Round Three of the Womens division are Olivia Brand (eThekweni),Danica Stockigt and Tayla de Coning (both Buffalo City) and Britney Linder (Nelson Mandela Bay). 

The South African Championships ends with the finals on Sunday. Day One results are posted on

Surfing South Africa is the recognised governing body for the sport of surfing in South Africa and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).

Heather Clark on her way to a 19pt heat score. Photo: Ian Thurtell