Category: Surfing News
Hits: 912



WHAT:  The Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force – stop No. 4 of 13 on the 2018 WSL Africa Tour and the third of five events in the City Surf Series (CSS), comprises World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) 1,000 rated events for Men and Women and Junior Qualifying Series (JQS) 1,000 rated events for Men and Women aged 18-and-younger.
WHEN:  Friday to Sunday, 18-20 May 2018
WHERE: North Beach, Durban, a beach break adjacent to the North Beach Pier that generates predominantly right breaking waves, with bowling left breaking waves on the high tide. Provides excellent hollow waves between 0.5 and 2.5 metres with suitable offshore winds.
WHO:  More than 100 of the country’s top open and junior surfers and a handful of international campaigners. The top seeds in each event are:
1          David van Zyl (Glenashley)
2          Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay)
3          Jordy Maree (Tokai)
4          Shane Sykes (Salt Rock)
5          Adin Masencamp (Strand)
6          Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay)
1          Zoe McDougall (Hawaii)
2          Josefina Ane (Argentina)
3          Nicole Pallet (La Lucia)  
4          Emma Smith (Jeffreys Bay)
Junior Men
1          Max Elkington (Kommetjie)
2          Luke Slijpen (Hout Bay)
3          Calvin Goor (Salt Rock)
4          Eli Beukes (Kommetjie)

1          Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay)
2          Sophie Bell (Salt Rock)
3          Kirsty McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay)
4          Kayla Nogueira (uMhlanga)
FORMAT:  Heats consist of four surfers with the top two in each heat advancing to the next round until four remain to contest the final in each division. The QS1,000 men’s and women’s events see the last four compete in two one-on-one semifinals and a one-on-one final.
The finals in Women’s and Junior Women’s events will be run on Saturday 19 May with the Men and Junior Men’s champions crowned on Sunday 20 May
STATUS:  The men’s, women’s and junior men’s and women’s events are sanctioned by the WSL Africa regional office. Each competitor earns points based on their final position in the event. Those points count towards the crowning of the annual WSL Africa champions.
The points earned in the men’s and women’s events also count towards the international QS rankings, which are used to determine which surfers qualify for, and receive preferential seeding in, high priority WSL events worldwide.
The points earned in junior men’s and women’s events count towards the selection of the squad of four men and two women who represent the WSL Africa region at the annual WSL World Junior Championship in Australia every January.
All surfing events in South Africa are sanctioned by Surfing South Africa (SSA), the national controlling body for the sport.
PRIZE-MONEY:  A total of R80,000 in prize money is on offer
QS1,000 Men:          R30,000
QS1,000 Women:    R20,000
JQS1,000 Men:        R20,000
JQS1,000 Women: R10,000
PRODUCTION: The Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force is produced by Accelerate Sports. The executive producer is Edward Gregory
WSL Africa Operations Manager Colin Fitch is the Tour Manager and the Contest Director is Ann Wright
WSL Africa Media Manager Paul Botha is the media liaison

About WSL
The World Surf League (WSL) is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.
The WSL has been championing the world's best surfing since 1976, annually running in excess of 180 global events across the Men's and Women's Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport's rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed world champions in Men’s, Women’s across all divisions within the tour.
Showcasing the world's best surfing on its digital platform at as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Tyler Wright, John John Florence, Paige Alms, Kai Lenny, Taylor Jensen, Honolua Blomfield, Mick Fanning, Stephanie Gilmore, Kelly Slater, Carissa Moore, Gabriel Medina, Courtney Conlogue and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.
For more information, please visit  
About Surfing South Africa
Surfing South Africa is recognised governing body for Surfing  in South Africa by the Department of Sport and Recreation. SSA is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).
Issued on behalf of:
WSL Africa
Contact:            Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel:                   021 534 5738
Email:               This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Compiled & Distributed by:
Life's a Beach Communications
Mobile:         +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email:           This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.