WHAT:  The third annual Vans Surf Pro Classic, Stop No. 5 of 13 on the 2018 World Surf League (WSL) Africa Qualifying Series (QS), features a QS1,500 rated event for Men, a QS1,000 for Women and a Junior Qualifying Series (JQS) 1,000 Men’s event for surfers 18-and-younger.

WHEN:  Friday to Sunday, 1-3 June 2018

WHERE: YoYo’s in Lamberts Bay, three hours drive North of Cape Town on the West Coast. The break produces excellent left and right breaking waves between 0.5 and 2.5 metres in a wide range of wind conditions and has been favourably compared with the internationally renowned high-performance break known as Trestles in California.

WHO:  A top class field of more than 100 local and international surfers. The top seeds in each event are:

Men (64)

1          Beyrick de Vries (uMhlanga)

2          David van Zyl (Glenashley)

3          Matt McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay)

4          Jordy Maree (Kalk Bay)

5          Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay)

6          Adin Masencamp (Strand)

Women (22)

1          Zoe McDougall (Hawaii)

2          Nicole Pallet (La Lucia)  

3          Emma Smith (Jeffreys Bay)

4          Crystal Hulett (St Francis Bay)

Junior Men (24)

1          Max Elkington (Kommetjie)

2          Luke Slijpen (Hout Bay)

3          Calvin Goor (Salt Rock)

4          Eli Beukes (Kommetjie)


FORMAT:  Heats consist of four surfers with the top two in each heat advancing to the next round. The QS1,500 men’s event sees the last eight compete in one-on-one quarter-finals, semi-finals and a final. The women’s and junior men’s events run until four remain and they then compete in one-on-one semi-finals and a final.

The final in each event will be run in the afternoon of Sunday 3 June with the three individual champions crowned at an awards ceremony on the beach.

STATUS:  The men’s, women’s and junior men’s events are sanctioned by the WSL Africa regional office. Each competitor earns points based on their final position in the event. Those points count towards the crowning of the annual WSL Africa champions..

The points earned in the men’s and women’s events also count towards the international QS rankings, which are used to determine which surfers qualify for, and receive preferential seeding in, major WSL events worldwide 

The points earned in the junior men’s event count towards the selection of the squad of four men who represent the WSL Africa region at the annual WSL World Junior Championship in Australia every January.

All surfing events in South Africa are sanctioned by Surfing South Africa (SSA), the national controlling body for the sport.

PRIZE-MONEY:  A total of R190,000 in prize money is on offer

QS1,500 Men:          R150,000

QS1,000 Women:    R20,000

JQS1,000 Men:        R20,000


PRODUCTION: The 2018 Vans Surf Pro Classic is produced by Vans with the assistance of the West Coast Boardriders Club

WSL Africa Operations Manager Colin Fitch is the Tour Manager and the Contest Director is Tasha Mentasti


WSL Africa Media Manager Paul Botha is the media liaison