Seal Point, Cape St Francis – Breezy onshore conditions and a slight surge in swell greeted competitors on the final day of competition at the Billabong Junior Series Finale, and the first heat of the day – the U12 Girls Final was sent straight out. Gabi Herbst was the surfer of the morning with a few incredible rides in the mixed up conditions, including an 8.0 ride for the title. Sarah Scott was the runner up.

Max Elkington and Zoe Steyn © Ian Thurtell

Kai Hall was the champion in the U12 Boys final, banking one huge score for two critical turns on a big set wave for a score of 9.33 and an unassailable lead, closely followed by Joel Fowles who surfed impressively on his backhand.

The U14 Girls division was a slow heat, with low scores and at the end of the heat it was Aimee Du Preez who emerged as the winner, with Olivia Winter in second place.

Luke Thompson caught 11 waves in his Final heat to defeat James Ribbink in what was an exciting and fast U14 Boys heat. Thompson’s strategy of hard and fast surfing, catch anything that moves proved to be the winning formula, with Ribbink Daniel Emslie and Brad Scott filling up the minor slots.

As the tide dropped out and the onshore waves continued to pour through relentlessly, the U16 Girls headed out for their final, and it was an action-packed exchange, with three of the girls on their backhand and one on her forehand. Zoe Steyn emerged victorious with a safe win against her counterparts, with Kayla Nogueira, Ceara Knight and Caroline Brown in second, third and fourth respectively.

The U16 Boys was another final dogged by few sets and low scores, with Tide-Lee Ireland snagging the win from York Van Jaarsveldt with a combined score of less than 9 points. Mitch Du Preez and Reilly Mare’ finished off the results with third and fourth spots.

The Pro Junior Women was a nail-biting affair as Zoe Steyn and Kai Woolf took center stage. Both surfers had been surfing phenomenally all event, and it was going to be about the surfer who caught the best waves. That was Steyn, and she won the final by a close margin from Woolf.

Zoe Steyn © Kody McGregor

Then Max Elkington and Luke Slijpen took to the water to battle it out for event honours in the Pro Junior Men’s division. It was all about Elkington who took the win and broke his year-long victory drought with his first place. “I haven’t had a win this year, and for a bit of last year, so I am really happy with the win today,” said a stoked Elkington. “I also won it last here two years ago, so just very happy with the win.”

Max Elkington © Kody McGregor

Final Results:

U12 Girls

  1. Gabi Herbst
  2. Sarah Scott
  3. Anastasia Venter
  4. Meka Loots

U12 Boys

  1. Kai Hall
  2. Joel Fowles
  3. Ntokozo ‘Surprise’ Maphumalo
  4. Asha Steytler

U14 Girls

  1. Aimee Du Preez
  2. Olivia Winter
  3. Adrian Wolmarans
  4. Kaylee Shaw Nell

U14 Boys

  1. Luke Thompson
  2. James Ribbink
  3. Daniel Emslie
  4. Brad Scott

U16 Girls

  1. Zoe Steyn
  2. Kayla Nogueira
  3. Ceara Knight
  4. Caroline Brown

U16 Boys

  1. Tide Lee Ireland
  2. York Van Jaarsveldt
  3. Mitch Du Preez
  4. Reilly Mare

Pro Junior Men

  1. Max Elkington
  2. Luke Slijpen

Pro Junior Women

  1. Zoe Steyn
  2. Kai Woolf

VonZipper Expression Session

Luke Slijpen

BOS Highest Heat Score Award

Zoe Steyn


Billabong Junior Series Results

U12 Girls

  1. Gabi Herbst
  2. Anastasia venter

U12 Boys

  1. Ntokozo Maphumalo
  2. Joel Fowles

U14 Girls

  1. Aimee Du Prees
  2. Olivia Winter

U14 Boys

  1. Luke Thompson
  2. Dan Emslie

U16 Boys

  1. Mitch Du Preez
  2. York Van Jaarsveldt

2018 Billabong Junior Series Pro Junior Champions.


  1. Zoe Steyn
  2. Kirsty McGillivray

2018 Billabong Junior Series Pro Junior Champions.


  1. Luke Slijpen
  2. Max Elkington


2018 WSL Africa Pro Junior Champions.

Men – Luke Slijpen.

Women – Kai Woolf.


2018 WSL Africa Juniors to attend the WSL World Junior Championships – Taiwan.

Men – Luke Slijpen, Max Elkington, Eli Beukes, Luke Thompson. 

Women – Kai Woolf, Zoe Steyn.



Billabong South Africa:

Billabong Women’s South Africa:





Hashtag: #BillabongJNR


The Billabong Junior Series is supported by BOS, VonZipper, Surfing South Africa and the World Surf League.


Chad D’Arcy:

  1. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  2. 079 519 5990

Jason Mendonca

  1. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  2. 079 698 7456

For media queries contact

Craig Jarvis

  1. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  2. 082 376 4443