Durban – Sixty of the best surfers in the country have already put their names forward for a slot in the Cell C Goodwave 2017 contest, celebrating the exciting return of one of the most popular and exciting events on the South African surfing scene.

Previous winners Llewellyn Whittaker, Warwick Wright, Simon Nicholson and Shane Thorne have all entered, as well as New Pier stalwarts Jason Ribbink, Davey Weare, Gavin Roberts and Dan Redman. Out-of-towners include Sean Holmes and Ryan Payne from Cape Town, Remi Peterson and Matt McGillivray from JBay, as well as girl surfers Tammy-Lee Smith, Tasha Mentasti and Teal Hogg.  
The event will cost R1 for invited surfers to enter, and it will take place during the course of one full day in 2017. Spike from is the official surf forecaster, and he will be assisting the contest organisers with tracking swells and making the call.

“March and April are always favourable months for a tournament like the Cell C Goodwave,” said Spike of the historical swell conditions of the area. “East swells roll off the tropical cyclones to the east of the country at this time, but we will obviously be monitoring swell activity throughout the waiting period.”

With many top names in already, contest organisers are busy figuring out a short list. If you wish to still enter the event, please send your entry to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with a few images, as well as a few words as to why you should be in the mix.

There will be 32 surfers selected for the event, as well as 32 alternates. Along with this, there might even be a few walk-up entries on the day, should any of the invited and alternate surfers not be present.
Closing dates for entries is 30 November 2016.

“We already have a healthy cross-section of entries from throughout the country,” said contest organiser Jason Ribbink. Ribbink reminded those surfers who have not yet entered, to enter as soon as possible.
“Surfers who have not yet put their names forward are urged to do so before the month-end, when we close off the entry list,” said Ribbink. “We need to send invites out during the first week of December for the beginning of the tournament’s waiting period, which starts 15 January.”


Grant 'Twiggy' Baker has entered. © Luke Patterson

All entries will be loaded up on the event Facebook page - and the selection criteria and process are at the discretion of the event organisers, and no correspondence will be entered into.

Entrance fee for the selected surfers is one Rand, first place prize is R100,000 and California Dreaming, overlooking New Pier on the beachfront, will host the event on the day. Oakley is a supporting sponsor.
The Cell C Goodwave is a South African Surfing Legends event, with Jason Ribbink the contest director.
The contest is sanctioned by Surfing South Africa.
The Cell C Goodwave - in loving memory of Lee Wolins.
For more information contact
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.