Local Surfers Pay Tribute at Alkantstrand Memorial

On Saturday 19 February, a large crowd of local and visiting surfers joined with family and friends at Alkantstrand, Richards Bay to pay tribute and to remember those who had passed away over the years.

The Alkantstrand Memorial was organised and held to honour local waveriders and administrators who had fallen from as far back as 1984. The event saw the official opening of a viewing deck with seats with the names of 47 individual plaques fixed to the railings of the structure. This was followed by a mass paddle out where some words and prayers were spoken for three surfers lost since the last paddle out held for Mark Trollip in 2021. Following the paddle out was a free fun surf contest for all forms of surfing in a very casual style where best waves and manoeuvres won the tiles.

Keith and Sue Brassell with image of their son Pabs Brassell while family members check out their loved ones names on the deck behind.

The idea for the memorial deck and contest came shortly after the passing of Mark Trollip near the location of the deck when local surfers got to chatting and reminiscing about those who had passed away. Names of the fallen were collected via WhatsApp groups and Facebook and as the word got around, people began to offer finances, help and prizes for the deck and event.

The informal group of organisers had to postpone the event a number of times but when it came to the day of the event the weather was perfect, the deck was constructed and ready and it turned out to be a great success. So much so that this will now be an annual event with a more formal contest and bigger prizes to be won. The surf on the day was not great but everyone who took part and joined in for the occasion had an amazing time. Those who could not make it on the day were treated to an impromptu live stream of most of the event as well as drone footage and images soon after.

Move of the day was by Liam de Villiers with this dropped wallet

All in all a good day was had and on behalf of all involved we would like to thank the following individuals and companies for their support:

Gerrit Loots and JJ and crew from Kingdom Community Church. Keith Brassell, Glen Hewitt and Hein Beukes for capturing the memories. Members of the board WhatsApp group  for cash donations and help on the day. Anton Knoetze, Freddie le Roux, Gerrit Loots, John Cawood and Dean Smith for organising things. Family and friends from all over the world with cash donations and for arriving on the day. RYD Brand for sponsoring some prizes for the winners of the fun contest. The Smith Family for R2 000 donation for the best move and Llewellyn Wepener donation of a custom surfboard. Ocean Audio for sound and power and microphone. Craig Webster and Sign Force. Apologies to anyone missed.

Contest Results

  • James Leigh - Open Shortboard Champion
  • Liam de Villiers - Open Best Move
  • Vladimir Tokai - U/19 Shortboard Champion
  • Tristan Friedrichs - U/19 Bodyboarding Champion 
  • Clint Dreyer - O/35 Shortboard Champion
  • Rob Moore-Boyle - O/35 Best Move Winner
  • Quinten Holzhausen - O/35 Bodyboarding Champion
  • Piesang van Huizen - O/35 Longboard Champion
  • Sarah Horlock - Open Longboard Champion
  • Jordy Cawood - Grom Champion

Pictured below left to right: Rob Moore-Boyle, Sarah Horlock, John Cawood, Tristan Friedrichs, Jordy Cawood, Vladimir Tokai, James Leigh, Clint Dreyer, Lourens Badenhorst, Liam de Villiers, Anton Knoetze and Fred Le Roux.

Louwrens Badenhorst won the luck draw Safari surfboard prize sponsored by Llewellyn Wepener.

Surf Alliance was the social account and website we used to spread the word, collect memorial names and stream live on the day and we are honoured to be part of this inaugural event. Look forward to doing this bigger and better in 2023. God Bless all involved.

Names of the 47 in no particular order:

Glen Millward

Gert (Bear) Vermaak

Jason Smith

Gizelle Oeschger

Derek van Eeden

Richard Hastings

Ross Harvey

Clinton Smart

Nathan Pretorius

Duncan van der Struis

Kenneth Read

Deon Burger

Chris van Rooyen

André Giani

Anton Joubert

Chadd Bain

Hennie Ludick

Gerhard Engelbrecht

Rob Millar

Troy Holmes

Roland Erasmus

Mark Trollip

Mark van Niekerk

Bert Deanna

John Frew

Gary Adshade

Glen Gradwell

Sean Rush

Dean Botes

Dean Gradwell

Andrew Moor-Boyle

Anton Ferreira

Desmond du Preez

Wyatt Benade

Craig Goncalves

Dayne Kemp

Gary Stark

Darryl Westman

Morris and Jenny Henderson

Joe Hayward

Dean Vorster

Shannon Vorster

Derek Antonowitz

CJ Oberholzer

Paul Brassell

Andrew Moore-Boyle

André Marais

Gallery images by Glen Hewitt

Latest News


News Archives

Where are all the old articles gone? There are still around bru! Click on the links below to access them.