The Zululand Surfriders Association held their first trial on Sunday 23 February in clean 2-3 foot surf at Alkantstrand, Richards Bay. The surf in Richards Bay has been amazingly clean for this area due to a break in dredger operations and the water was warm with not much wind all day. Although the surf was a bit small it was very contestable and the competitors put on a fine display of surfing.

Highlights on the day included a polished and varied surfing performance from Chris Koen to win his first heat in the highly competitive Open Division. It is great to see Chris and Vaughn Weyer back in competitive action. Vaughan unfortunately did not make it through to the final but we hope to see him bounce back at the second trials. Scott Venter, new to Zululand surfing, was on fire in the Open Division especially on the lefts and won both his heats to take top honors in the Open Division. Braiden Coates took complete control of the Junior Division with some powerful surfing that had spectators saying "Who is that in the black vest". New dad Allan Johns shook off an injury to place second in the Open Division and first in the Masters Division.

The trials were blessed to have the talents on display of the Venter brothers, Allan Johns, SA Masters Champ 2013 Robin Lavery, previous SA Masters Champ Mike Frew, local stalwart and SA Champ Fred le Roux and now World Masters Champion Andrew Banks on display. Andrew, formerly of the Southern Natal will be surfing for team ZSA this year further strengthening the team of old blood and upcoming Junior rippers.

We hope to see more entries at the next trial which will take place at Zinkwazi on Sunday 16 March.

Full results
1. Scott Venter
2. Allan Johns
3. Chris Koen
4. Byron Lindsay
1. Braiden Coates
2. Callum Carlson
3. Daniel Barry
4. Stephan Baron
5. Seth Foster

Masters 30+
1. Allan Johns
2. Andrew Banks
3. Marcus Theron

Masters 40+
1. Mike Frew
2. Anton Knoetze
3. Pieter van Rijn
Masters 50+
1. Steve Kuhn
2. Robin Lavery
3. Fred le Roux
4. Calla Esterhuysen


Allan Johns (Photos courtesy of Melandi Oosthuizen)


Braiden Coates (Photos courtesy of Melandi Oosthuizen)


Fred Le Roux (Photos courtesy of Melandi Oosthuizen)


Steve Khun (Photos courtesy of Melandi Oosthuizen)